New Year, New Me

My friends don’t make New Year’s Resolutions. Most of them think that they are perfect the way they are (accurate) and the rest don’t believe in waiting until January 1st to make positive changes (practical) – those ones are actually perfect the way they are, too.

BUT I LOVE NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS!

I love blank slates, fresh starts, turning over new leaves – It’s the optimist in me. And, I suppose, the fool. There’s also a part of me that knows if I don’t set goals within a timeframe – ie. within the year that’s just started, I might never get around to them. Resolutions aren’t just about eating fewer donuts and doing yoga so that by March I look like Emilia Clarke – I know that that’s unrealistic.

Because I love donuts.

Making New Year’s Resolutions is setting intentions for my year ahead. As Dwight said, in Season 7 of The Office “that’s just something I want to do, I can do that!”. Writing down my intentions for 2017 also make me accountable for my resolutions, and by publishing them here it gives everyone permission to ask me how my resolutions are going, say, pointedly, while I’m spending too much money on cakes and not writing about it. Besides, I needed a topic for this week’s blog post.

So, here are my 2017 Resolutions.

  1. Eat better. This has been on my list for many, many years, which I think says more about society and its expectations of women than it does about my inability to stick to anything… Right? Still, when you’re having a microwave potato gratin for dinner more than once a week, it’s time to make some changes. There is a great big exciting world of vegetables out there and I intend to eat more of them. I am calling on my connections at McNally Family Farm and The Market Kitchen as vegetable gurus to make it seem more exciting. VEGETABLES. YES. They have not agreed to this.
  2. Exercise. I used to have a treadmill in my room but it saw far more action as a clothes hanger than it ever did as exercise equipment. I blame the BORINGNESS of running on a treadmill. I will attempt, in the New Year, to run outside. I will also take other suggestions on exercises I could do, although Zumba gives me anxiety because I have no rhythm and I hate putting my face in water so no swimming. Other suggestions welcome though I may not take them if I don’t feel like it. I already own my own runners.
  3. Write more. I was actually doing a pretty good job of this in 2016, blogging (almost) every Wednesday, so I’ll keep that up, though I will also be doing Proper Writing and not just this nonsense. I will first have to get a desk, though, because that’s where one does Proper Writing. This nonsense is done in my bed, last minute, with one tab open on Netflix and a Lindt chocolate reindeer. Oops, resolution no. 1… Anyway, better writing habits in 2017!
  4. Stay Organised. In 2016, I bought an Erin Condren Life Planner and I’m not advertising for them or anything, but I managed to keep it up all year and was so much more organised than before. That’s still not very organised, but it was a vast improvement. I bought loads of organising stickers on Etsy which was like 93% of the appeal and OH my god was it a good excuse to buy loads of stickers I mean great way to stay organised. So, I have a new 2017 planner and I’m going to buy even more stickers this year.
  5. Visit New York. I have never been and there are SO MANY TV SHOWS set there. I intend to see NYC in 2017. If it’s still there and there’s no wall around it or anything.
  6. Save. This is tied to resolution no. 5 because I won’t be going anywhere if I don’t save money. So, I’ll be bringing my lunch to work and buying less barista-made coffee. This will cost me quite a few imaginary relationships with hot baristas but I’m hoping it will be worth it and there will be even hotter baristas in New York. This does not affect resolution no. 4, stickers are a necessity.

So, those are my intentions for 2017. I’ll do an update at some point to say how I’m getting on with them, which can be my motivation to follow them through.

No, wait, my motivation to follow them through is a better, happier me in 2017.

Yeah, that’s it.

Happy New Year.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Me

  1. Happy New Year, Caoimhe!
    Good luck with the resolutions! I also make some myself but of course I end up breaking them but sure that’s the fun of New years resolutions haha..maybe 2017 will change that .. I would also love to go to NYC too for the sole reason that Suits is set there haha..and for concerts as i weirdly associate the USA with them…Anyway all the best, Kate 😊

    • Happy New Year, Kate! I hope you have a great 2017, I think Broad City and Brooklyn 99 are my main draws to NYC at the moment… but there are so many great shows! Good luck with your resolutions 😀

Leave a Reply

