Musicals We’d Like To See: X-Men the musical

My colleague and I are well learned in the art of procrastination. Sometimes, my procrastination tactics will in fact be productive in their own way, such as tidying my room or going for a run. This is not one of those times.

I am one of those despicable people who laugh at their own jokes. On one occasion I was giggling to myself while listening to David Guetta’s “Titanium” and imagining Wolverine singing it, replacing “Titanium” with “Adamantium”. Try it, it works. In itself, this is a bizarre thing to do (on a crowded tube, people were staring).

But (Carrie Bradshaw moment coming up) I couldn’t help but wonder; what other songs would feature in a hypothetical X-Men musical?

So, I present to you, the Spotify playlist for my proposed X-MEN: The Musical.

While I was supposed to be doing other things, I gave this quite a lot of thought. Songs such as Human, Common People and Creep would be group numbers, highlighting the struggle mutants face between  their powers and their humanity. Then I thought of songs that could apply to some of my favourite X-Men characters. I feel that they are pretty self-explanatory, but I’m happy to elaborate.

Professor X: Can’t get you out of my head

Pyro: Disco Inferno

Iceman: Ice Ice Baby

Emma Frost: Diamonds are Forever

Rogue: Electric Feel

Beast, Mystique and Nightcrawler group number: Blue Da Ba Dee

Thunderstruck: Storm

Pokerface: Gambit

To name but a few. Obviously it needs work, a plot would be good, or any kind of structure. But I think Hugh Jackman will be very interested.

I wish there were awards for wasting time.

C.C.

Leave a Reply

