My new best friends

The bizarre thing about working in customer services after moving away from everyone you know is that you are constantly interacting with people while simultaneously being quite lonely. To the point where you are seeing your regular customers more than you see your own family.

It’s sort of like they’re my friends, except that I know absolutely nothing about them. For all I know, their names are Skinny Latte, Black Filter and Decaf Cappuccino.

I occasionally have sitcom-style fantasies where we’re all hanging out in a bar, and it’s my round and they all order coffees. I have suddenly realised that even my fantasies are rather dull. I wonder if characters can be less than one-dimensional.

 

C.C.

Leave a Reply

